



An index of past and present judicial officers of the Māori Land Court and Native Land Court

1 May 2018

Judicial officers of the Native Land Court from 1864 to 1947

Judge	Date appointed
John Rogan	25 June 1864 (President)
	9 January 1865 (Judge)
Wiremu Tipene	25 June 1864
Matikikuha	25 June 1864
Te Keene of Orakei	25 June 1864
Tamati Reweti	25 June 1864
George Clarke	25 October 1864 (President)
	9 January 1865 (Judge)
Hone Mohi Tawhai	25 October 1864
Penetana Papahurihia	25 October 1864
Hoterene Tawatawa	25 October 1864
Wepiha Pi	25 October 1864
Tango Hikuwai	25 October 1864
Riwhi Hongi	25 October 1864
Tamati Huingariri	25 October 1864
Francis Dart Fenton	9 January 1865 (Chief Judge)
James McKay	11 February 1865
William Bertrand White	11 February 1865
Thomas Henry Smith	7 April 1865
Walter Lawry Buller	7 April 1865
George Frederick Swainson	7 April 1865

Judge

Judge	Date appointed
James Booth	7 April 1865
Henry Alfred Home Munro	15 November 1865
Frederick Edward Maning	15 November 1865
John Jermyn Symonds	12 February 1875
Samuel Deighton	12 February 1875
Henry Halse	12 February 1875
Theophilus Heale	30 April 1877
John Alexander Wilson	18 June 1878
Charles Heaphy	4 September 1878
Thomas Edward Young	1 March 1879
James Edwin McDonald	18 October 1880
	14 November 1882 (Chief Judge)
Laughlin O'Brien	18 October 1880
Frederick Maurice Preston Brookfield	29 April 1881
Edward Marsh Williams	29 April 1881
Edward Walter Puckey	18 May 1881
William Gilbert Mair	22 March 1882
Henry Tacy Clarke	12 March 1883
Alexander MacKay	20 May 1884
Richard John Gill	8 January 1885
David Scannell	5 December 1885
Robert Ward	25 May 1886
Herbert William Brabant	22 December 1886
George Elliot Barton	19 November 1888
Hugh Garden Seth-Smith	8 February 1889 (Chief Judge)
Spencer William Von Sturmer	21 February 1889
Robert Trimble	15 November 1889

Judge

James Stephenson Clendon Walter Edward Gudgeon George Boutflower Davy William James Butler Herbert Frank Edger Henry Dunbar Johnson James Meachem Batham Robert Noble Jones

Jackson Palmer

James Wakelin Browne Charles Edward McCormick

Walter Edward Rawson Robert Campbell Sim Albert George Holland Thomas William Fisher Michael Gilfedder Eliot Roscoe Reeve Thomas Henry Wilson John Bain Jack Hugh Fraser Ayson Frank Oswald Victor Acheson Harold Herbert Carr John Harvey George Patrick Shepherd Date appointed 10 October 1890 1 July 1890 15 November 1892 (Chief Judge) 14 June 1893 13 March 1894 1 May 1896 1 April 1897 1 July 1903 14 August 1919 (Chief Judge) 8 June 1904 28 August 1906 (Chief Judge) 29 January 1905 27 August 1906 1 July 1939 (Chief Judge) 27 August 1906 27 August 1906 1 September 1906 1 February 1907 1 February 1907 1 July 1908 1 January 1911 1 February 1912 3 February 1919 1 November 1919 19 July 1923 1 July 1933

1 October 1938

Judge

Robert Preshaw Dykes Ernest Manfield Beechy Arnold Admiral Whitehead Ivor Prichard

David Gordon Bruce Morison

Date appointed

August 1940 (Chief Judge)
May 1941
May 1941
January 1943
April 1945
April 1961 (Chief Judge)
September 1945 (Chief Judge)

Judges appointed to the Māori Land Court since 1948

Judge	Date appointed
Norman William Smith	18 February 1952
Gerard Michael O'Malley	2 February 1953
Geoffrey John Jeune	25 January 1954
	3 February 1964 (Chief Judge)
Selwyn Clemens Clarke	1 May 1954
Maurice Alister Brook	9 January 1956
Clement George White	1 March 1956
William Field Porter	1 April 1958
Bartholemew Sheehan	1 May 1961
David Grant Davis	29 May 1961
Kenneth Gillanders Scott	24 October 1961
	16 June 1974 (Chief Judge)
Melville Charles Smith	3 February 1964
William Collinson Nicholson	28 October 1965
Edward James Haughey	17 May 1966
Andrew Graham Todd	1 June 1969 (Chief Judge)
Leonard George Herston Sinclair	1 May 1971
Kevin Bernard Cull	1 September 1971
Edward Taihakurei Junior Durie	15 August 1974
	1 August 1980 (Chief Judge)
Ross Maitland Russell	1 March 1975
Ashley George McHugh	29 March 1980
Norman Francis Smith	1 April 1981
Heta Kenneth Hingston	26 October 1984
Hoera Bailey Marumaru	21 October 1985

Andrew Duncan Spencer	20 May 1987
Glendyn Donald Carter	1 October 1989
James Leighton Rota	5 November 1990
Wilson Whare Isaac	11 March 1994
	13 August 2009 (Chief Judge)
Patrick John Savage	7 July 1994
Joseph Victor Williams	1 December 1999 (Chief Judge)
Carolyn Mary Wainwright	17 November 2000
Caren Leslie Fox (nee Wickliffe)	7 October 2000
	20 February 2010 (Deputy Chief Judge)
Layne Ross Harvey	20 February 2010 (Deputy Chief Judge) 1 September 2002
Layne Ross Harvey Stephanie Te Aomarama Milroy	
	1 September 2002
Stephanie Te Aomarama Milroy	1 September 2002 9 September 2002
Stephanie Te Aomarama Milroy David John Ambler	1 September 2002 9 September 2002 1 June 2006
Stephanie Te Aomarama Milroy David John Ambler Stephen Robert Clark	1 September 2002 9 September 2002 1 June 2006 25 January 2008
Stephanie Te Aomarama Milroy David John Ambler Stephen Robert Clark Craig Tamihana Coxhead	1 September 2002 9 September 2002 1 June 2006 25 January 2008 25 January 2008

Note: Judges in **bold** text are current Judges of the Māori Land Court and Māori Appellate Court

This list was compiled by: <u>Dr Paerau Warbrick</u>, Te Tumu, School of Māori and Indigenous Studies, University of Otago, Dunedin, New Zealand and Taiawhio Raihania Waititi, Deputy Registrar Māori Land Court and Senior Advisor, Operations Support, Courts and Tribunals Regional Service Delivery, Ministry of Justice, Wellington, New Zealand.

6